Allegan County News & Union Enterprise

Allegan County commission candidates announced

By John Raffel

ALLEGAN – Allegan County Board of Commission chairman James Storey, will be facing opposition for another two-year term this year.
He will face opposition for the Republican nomination in the August primary.
“On the county Board of Commissioners election front, four of the five races for county commissioner seats will feature challengers this year,” Storey wrote in his weekly newsletter. “As has been previously reported, the number of county commissioners taking office next year was reduced from seven to five. The list of candidates seeking the county commission and the districts in which they are running is listed here:. 
District 1
Republicans: Jim Storey and Ron Walters
District 2
Republican: Mark DeYoung
District 3
Republicans: Dean Kapenga and Tom Jessup
Democrat: Don Doggendorf
District 4
Republicans: Stephen Young, Scott Beltman, Max Thiele
District 5
Republican: Gale Dugan
Democrat: Austin Marsman.
Party winners will advance to the November election. DeYoung doesn’t face any primary or election opposition. The winners in District 1 and 4 for the GOP nomination will not face opposition in November. There will be a November race in Districts 3 and 5.
Starting in 2024, commissioner winners will be four-year terms.

Leave a Reply